Book Talk

Book Talk – A Monster Calls

Stories are wild creatures. When you let them loose, who knows what havoc they might wreak?

Book: A Monster CallsCapture.JPG

Author: Patrick Ness

Initial Thoughts: Okay, this is going to be made into a movie (or maybe it’s already out?), so it’s probably pretty decent. My youngest brother-in-law bought it when we were out shopping one day and he LOVED it, so that’s another point to its credit. AND it was borrowed to me (by the same brother-in-law), so I needed to get it read in a timely manner. My mom started reading it, and loved it. And the cover is pretty.

Plot: Teenage years are never easy, but Conor O’Malley is going through more than his classmates this school year. With his mother sick and everyone at school walking on egg shells around him, Conor just wants things to go back to the way they were before the sickness. The most unlikely friend comes forward to help Conor in his time of need.

This is a heartwrenching tale of disease, loss, and the struggle that surround families during these trying times.

My Thoughts: This was a very well rounded and perfectly written book. Illness is an issue that a lot of books try to cover because it’s a prominent problem in society today. However, it’s a VERY difficult topic to cover. Complex. Painful. Sad. In this book, Ness artfully describes the challenges that surround not only the sick individual but also their loved ones and the grief they must overcome to say goodbye.

I loved… 

  • The plot. This seems a little weird when I think about how much I enjoyed it (it’s a dark subject, after all), but the plot kept me guessing twisting and changing as the story unfolded.
  • The characters. Or really just Conor.
  • The perspective. I watched an oral interpretation piece on “the forgotten child once” describing the loneliness a child may feel when their sibling has cancer. The sibling gets attention and gifts, and questioned after, but often that leaves the other child feeling left out. And when we (or at least I) think of someone who is sick, that is really what I think about. I often forget to think about the loved ones watching the suffering. Reading the story from this different perspectives gives me a more rounded view of how a disease affects a community.

I didn’t care for… 

  • Like any good book, this one was WAY too short. I’m not saying that it’s not well written, it was, it just could’ve kept going.

My Rating… 5 stars!

rate-5-0

I gave this book 5 stars because it was so powerful. I really wish that it had been longer, but, at the same time, it was the perfect length. Absolutely beautiful writing and an entrancing story kept me turning pages from cover to cover.

I would recommend this for… anyone going through a tough time. Cancer is ravaging the country and this book offers unique insight into dealing with loss and illness. Beautifully yet simply written anyone CAN read it, but I think ages 12+ would be best to understand the true depth of this story.

Quotes:

But what is a dream, Conor O’Malley? Who is to say that it is not everything else that is the dream?

 

There is not always a good guy. Nor is there always a bad one. Most people are somewhere in between.

 

The green things of this world are just wonderous, aren’t they? We work so hard to get rid of them when sometimes they’re the very thing that saves us.

 

As incredible as it seemed, time kept moving forward for the rest of the world. The rest of the world wasn’t waiting.

 

The answer is that it does not matter what you think because your mind will contradict itself a hundred times each day. You want her to go at the same time you were desperate for me to save her. Your mind will believe comforting lies while also knowing the painful truths that make those lies necessary. And you mind will punish you for believing both. You do not write your life with words. You write it with actions. What you think is not important. It is only important what you do.

 

Let’s chat: Have you read this book? Did you LOVE it like I did? Is it on your to be read list? I would love to hear from you!

Tata for now!

signew

Leave a Reply

