The End of an Era

4 years is a really long time. I mean a REALLY long time. It magnificently has the ability to be infinitely long. And somehow after the 1460 days, I look back and it went by in a flash. As my husband says:

The days are long, but the weeks are short.

It took me a while to figure out exactly what that means. This semester – but several times throughout the past 4 years – I have found Monday ticking by more slowly than I even thought was possible. Now, as I look back, those days and weeks passed in a blur and I can’t believe that it’s really over.

I remember moving in. To a place more than 300 miles from my parents. I read and reread my schedule. I marked a map so I wouldn’t get lost on my first day. I packed and repacked my backpack, afraid of forgetting a single thing.

I remember the “I’m out of laundry, so fancy clothes it is” stage. Or worse, the “I’m out for laundry so swimsuit for underwear and ratty pajamas on top” stage.

I remember learning to live with total strangers.

I remember the first time I had to worry about finding the bottom of my bank account.

I remember many tears. Unsure if I was doing the right thing. If this was the path I was supposed to take. Fighting through two calculus classes.

Fighting through two calculus classes.

Late nights. Early mornings.

Everything.

College has been an amazing experience. To be honest, it was way different than what I was expecting when I first pulled up to my dorm doors. It was dirty and expensive and the food really sucked. I have talked to so many people that say that it was the best experience of their lives. I disagree.

I disagree.

It was good. It was hard. I learned a lot. I made some friends. But it was not the best thing I will do with my life. I truly believe that the best is yet to come.

So, as this chapter in my life comes to a close, (and I try to put my ducks in a row – or even the same pond) I am so thankful for the opportunities college gave me. But I am so glad it’s over.

LET’S TALK: Are you in the middle of chaos? Are you graduating? Did you have a filling college experience? 

signew

Leave a Reply

