Book Talk – Carve the Mark

Death is a mercy compared to the agony I have caused.

ctm.JPGBook: Carve the Mark

Author: Veronica Roth

Summary: Since she developed it, Cyra has lived in constant pain caused by her currentgift. Akos disrupts the current stopping anything that relies on it. Trapped under her tyrant brother’s thumb, Cyra spends most of her time fighting to live. One day at a time. The relief that Akos brings with him allows her to see the world as she’s never seen before. The new view opens Cyra’s eyes to the pain caused by her tyrant brother’s rulings.

This story follows these two young people as they discover who they are and how they fit into a changing world.

My Thoughts: I really LOVE Veronica Roth, so I got myself super excited to read this book. I am proud to say, it did not disappoint. This unique storyline is not what I expected picking up the book and, before I knew it, I was hooked. There will be another book (I think), and I am super impatient waiting for it.

What I Liked:

  • The storyline was unique. In true Roth fashion, this dystopian novel kept winding through and kept me guessing the entire way.
  • The characters. I seriously LOVE a well-written character, and the ones in the book are phenomenal.
  • The foreshadowing. In the novel, the characters are fated for futures that are unchangeable. Beautifully and elegantly, Roth wove these into the storyline providing tiny glimpses into what might happen. (But of course, you don’t know how).

 

Things That Weren’t My Favorite:

  • Using two different characters to convey the story. Now, don’t get me wrong, the book was very well written, but I am not a huge fan of different characters telling the story. That being said, it was done well.
  • The cliff-hanger! (I know, I know. This isn’t really anything that SHOULD be changed. I just know there will be another book and I REALLY hate waiting.)

 

My Rating:

rate-4-5

I give this book 4.5 stars. I SERIOUSLY loved the read, it was easy and kept me guessing until the end. There were a couple of things that weren’t my favorite, but, all-in-all, I think that Veronica Roth is a magical writer and I really loved this book.

 

I would recommend this for… ANYONE who liked the Divergent series (of course). I think that anyone who likes dystopian, YA, and books with a plot to keep you guessing.

 

Quotes I <3:

She was not a rusty nail, as she had once told him, or a blade in Ryzek’s hand. She was a hushflower, all power and possibility. Capable of doing good and harm in equal measure.

“Can I kiss you?” he said. “Or will it hurt?”

Her eyes went wide. Then she said breathlessly, “And if it hurts?” And smiled a little. “Life is full of hurt anyway.”

“It’s hard to know what’s right in this life,” she said. “We do what we can, but what we really need is mercy.”

LETS CHAT! What are your thoughts? Have you read it yet? Is it on your to-be-read list?

signew

Leave a Reply

