Book Talk

Book Talk – Revolution

There is only one thing I fear now – love. For I have seen it and I have felt it and I know that it is love, not death, that undoes us.

captureBook: Revolution

Author: Jennifer Donnelly

Summary: After a painful loss, Andi has been struggling to find her place in life. During her senior year, she is forced to go to Paris with her father. Here, she finds a journal that connects her to a girl stuck in the middle of the French Revolution. The diary connects Andi to Alex in ways she could never have imagined. This story will have you guessing until the very last page. Jennifer Donnelly beautifully wove together the lives of two young women using music, work, and the ties of friendship to bring the story to life.

 

My Thoughts: I thought this was an amazingly well-written story. There were many things that I really liked! This is a great YA novel for people who love an endearing book that deals with a lot of the challenges we face as we make out way to adulthood. I really loved that this book was so deep – there was more to the story than just the story (know what I mean?).

What I Liked:

  • The story was unique, there are not many time-traveling, depressed senior stories on the market and I liked that the book was different than anything I’ve read in a while.
  • The friendship. This is always an underrated part of books. So often, the side characters don’t make the cut of “best part in a book,” but I think they should be front and center in this book. Without her friends, Alex would not have made it through the story and I think that it deserves notice.
  • The music that flows through the story. I have a deep love for classical music and Donnelly was able to weave music throughout the story (I added a handful of these songs to by youtube channel). It was beautiful.
  • The guessing game. I don’t want to give anything away (so I’m going to be that jerk that gives you a cliffhanger), but OH BOY! for the twists and turns that this book took.

Things That Weren’t My Favorite:

  • MOMENT OF HONESTY: I listened to this as an audiobook, and without the readers giving me voices, I don’t think I would have liked this book as much.
  • It kind of got crazy. I like some good plot twists, but some of the ones in this book were just too out there for me to LOVE them.

My Rating:

rate-4-0

I gave this book a 4/5 because it was really well written, and I liked the story, but there were just some concepts that were too out there for it to be a new fav.

I would recommend this for… people who love YA and historical fiction. The story keeps the reader guessing, so I think just about anyone would love the book!

Quotes I <3:

Life is all about the revolution.The one inside. You cannot change history. You cannot change the world. All you can ever change is yourself.

I will rain down silver and gold for you. I will shatter the black night, break it open, and pour our a million stars.

 

Have you read this amazing book? What are your thoughts? Do you plan on reading it?

signew

 

Leave a Reply

