Book Talk

Book Talk – The Woman in Cabin 10

woman in cabin 10.JPG

Book: The Woman in Cabin 10

Author: Ruth Ware

Summary: Lo Blacklock is a normal travel blogger, minus the travel. When her boss becomes ill, Lo is given the change that she believes may be the next step in her career. Days before she takes off on this trip of a lifetime, a robber breaks into her apartment and leaves her traumatized. Deciding that leaving is the best way to get over it, Lo boards the Aurora.

The trip begins as if it were a dream, the boat a  beautiful work of art and the passengers, elegant.However, things are not always as they seem to be. Lo experiences something that can only be described as a real nightmare.

My Thoughts: This book was very well written, keeping me guessing until the very end. If you loved The Girl on the Train, I think that you would really love this book. There were several twist and turns, that were completely unexpected, with a unique look at marine murders.

What I Liked:

  • The story! It was murder/mystery in a different light thaL n things I have read before. The book brought up some interesting debates about murders at sea.
  • The writing was YUMMY. Everything in the book was clearly spelled out and easy to follow without being boring to read.
  • The characters, I felt the very real fear and frustrations of Lo Blacklock when I was emersed in her world. Ware’s writing brought the story to life!

Things That Weren’t My Favorite:

  • Lo Blacklock felt kind of whiny. I really loved her struggles, it built her up as a character, but I couldn’t help but get a little frustrated with her attitude in some of the situations. I had a hard time believing that she was really the heroine in the story.
  • Ending on a cliffhanger. I may be over-exaggerating, but I think the ending could have been different. Lo’s obsession should have been over. (That’s all I have to say about that.)
  • The story kept going. There were three distinct points in the book where I thought “this is a great place to stop” and the story continued. Not that I don’t like a meaty book, but it got a little dragged out.

My Rating: 

rate-4-0

I gave this book 4/5 stars because I really loved the read. It kept me guessing all the way through to the last chapter. But, because of the hype surrounding the book, I had been looking forward to more than what it provided.

I would recommend this for… mystery readers. I think this is the next book for anyone who loved the Girl on the Train. I think this book would really be great for anyone who loves mystery books!

Let’s talk! What are your thoughts? Have you read this book? Do you feel the same way as I do? What genre do you prefer to read?

signew

Leave a Reply

