Christmas · Lifestyle

Why I Don’t Believe in New Years Resolutions, but Set Them Anyway.

Hello, friend! Sorry that this post is coming to you a little late, we just got back from out holiday vacation. I hope that you had an amazing Christmas and a happy New Year! Every year, I get super excited about how this year is going to be the best one yet. How I can make my life different, how I can change and it will stick because it’s a new year. Because it’s the time when anything is possible. 356 unwritten days where we have to believe that we can achieve anything. As if the other years didn’t matter. As if the years to come don’t matter.

When I think about it, it is stupid. What makes this one day so different from all the rest?Why should I be able to change just because it’s a new year? And then I resolve to make no resolutions. I’m done. Or that’s what I tell myself. I tell myself that it’s stupid. And then New Years Day gets closer…

And I can’t help myself. I get excited. The prospects are too great, the possibilities endless! So then I start thinking about what I want to change. Where I want to go in my life. Not that I am unsatisfied, just that a new year offers the perfect time for it. With my thankful list last month, I am reminded of all the good things, and where I sometimes fall short.

So I am resolving to do a couple of things:

  • I am taking part in #yogarevolution by Yoga with Adriene, 31 days to start off finding my balance and self (I know it’s cheesy, but this is my third year doing her January yoga and I LOVE the way it makes me feel).
  • I am giving up extra sugar. I have a MASSIVE sweet tooth, and when working to be healthy this tends to be a downfall for me. So, starting yesterday, I am avoiding extra sugar. For right now this is just sweets, but I plan on extending it so I no longer drinking creamer in my coffee or eat refined carbs. (As a side note, I think I also need to cut fingernails out of my diet… Any suggestions for making this possible?)
  • I am taking time to be thankful. I have never successfully meditated (the last time I tried I fell asleep), but I need to pause and complain less. I feel that 2016 was a very sad year, and I did a lot of complaining. So instead of whining about what is wrong this year, I am going to be thankful for all the things that are right.

That’s it. I don’t want to go crazy. It’s hard to do just one of these, so doing all three is a good start for me.

Chit Chat: Are you making any resolutions? Do you think that it’s ridiculous or are you an avid “try-er”? I would love to hear what you’ve got going on!

capture

Leave a Reply

