Book Talk – Me Before You

I needed to tell him, silently, that things might change, grow, or fail, but that life did go on. That we were all part of some great cycle, some pattern that it was only God’s purpose to understand. -Jojo Moyes

Book: Me Before YouCapture.JPG

Author: Jojo Moyes

Summary: Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl, working in the same town she was raised in. Working at a coffee shop, living at home, in a steady relationship. Until everything changes. She is fired from her long-term job, and searches frantically for a new one. After several failed attempts at new jobs, she stumbles across a “caregiver” position with Will Traynor. Will had lived an extraordinary life, until an accident left him paralyzed. Unable to live the life he wanted. Louisa took it upon herself to show him that life was still worth living.

My Thoughts: Not going to lie, I picked this one up because it’s one that “everyone has read” and my mother-in-law wanted to see the movie with me. Plus, the original cover is beautiful and the library had it in stock.

Now I can see why everyone had read it, and why it’s been made into a movie.

Things I Liked:

  • The plot. I found this story to be unique yet not so far out there that it was impossible. Love seeps in slowly, realistically. Depression sneaks it’s way into our lives without notice. Hope blossoms eternally. This story had it ALL.
  • The characters were real. An ordinary girl, living in the same town she grew up in. Bored and wanting to leave, but afraid of everything out there. A wild man, willing to jump off building and take risks, but unable to do so. The characters were so well written that I truly felt that I knew them. That I will miss them.
  • The writing. I’m not cheating here and being vague for any reason, I just don’t know how else to put it. When I was reading this book, I felt that I was there, in the story. The writing flowed, making the setting, dialect, and characters come to life.

Things I Weren’t My Favorite:

  • I refuse to give anything away, but the ending. I can’t help but be a little upset with how the story ended.

I was reading this book at the gym. I finished reading this book at the gym. I cried. There, in public, I cried. I can’t say that I have ever done that before, but there is a first for everything.

My Rating:

rate-4-5

I would recommend this for… anyone who loved the Fault in Our Stars. Romance readers, young adult (and I mean young adult, not teen)/twenty-something readers.

Quotes I ❤ :

Spring arrived overnight, as if winter, like some unwanted guest, had abruptly shrugged its way into its coat and vanished, without saying good-bye.

I wanted to show him. A silent promise, if you like, that there was a bigger picture, a brighter future.

Live boldly. Push yourself. Don’t settle. Wear those stript legs with pride. Just live.

Final Thoughts: Wow. This book was beautifully written, with the characters coming to life in my mind. Although when books have everyone going crazy, it’s important to go in without you hopes high, but I feel like this one is worth the read!

Tell me what you think! Have you read this book? What did you think? Is the movie worth watching?

capture

Leave a Reply

