Day 3

Good morning!

The days keep ticking by, day three! 22 days until Christmas! Some things are hard to quantify when you are working on being grateful for what you have. This year, as I’ve said, I am doing a homemade Christmas. Making gifts for all my friends and loved ones. Going into this, I knew it was an undertaking. Now that we are here, with finals and work, I am burned out and struggling to work on these gifts. However, I need to think about how grateful I am for these skills.

The ability to make something by hand, one stitch at a time, is a trait that not many people have these days. So today I am thankful for the ability to work with my hands. To knit. To sew. To crochet. To paint. And I am thankful for the people who taught me these skills: my grandma, my cousin Rachel, an old friend, and my mom (who bought me several art kits, so I could improve my skills).

What are you thankful for? Are you making things for Christmas? Do you have skills to make things?

capture

Leave a Reply

