Sunday Reset

When I start to feel overwhelmed, I go into organization overdrive. I spend hours making lists and looking up “how to be productive” and “motivation” on Pinterest. I try my best to gain control through organization. Sundays tend to get me in the “ohmygosh I have soooo much to do this week” mode. And then I try to go into overdrive, and that just ruins the whole relaxed weekend vibe.

Instead of freaking out, I’ve been working really hard to USE my Sunday and get ready for the week ahead in a methodical way. If you’re like me here are my best “get it together tips.” If you’re not like me… HOW DO YOU DO IT?

 

10

1. Clean the house. I find that starting the week off not having to a bunch of house chores is crazy helpful. I think I read a study once that warned that people who live in an organized place are generally less stressed than those who live in a mess.

2. Make a Mega To Do List. I love this one (list are kinda my thing). I like to make a list of the important things I have going on each day – tests, work, assignments, and gym. (I find it’s really helpful to schedule in gym time). I find that it also helps to cross off at least one thing before the week starts (like wash dishes or set up coffee pot).

todo

3. Get ahead (if you can). I try to use my weekend time wisely, but the weekends just go by SO fast. I try to get ahead (scheduling blog posts rather than writing them the day of or reading through the chapter ahead).

4. Clean the kitchen. This one is harder for me because I don’t like cleaning the kitchen, but sweeping the floor, wiping down the countertops, and  washing all the dishes really helps me feel like I’ve got it together. I also really enjoy cleaning my coffee pot. Just a little soap and water gets rid of that gunk, so it looks brand new.

5. Meal prep. Okay, okay. I know that not everyone has the time to do this, but if you do it can be a huge lifesaver. A couple of weeks ago I made 22 meals and froze them, so meal prep is easy for me right now, I just decide what I am pulling from the freezer and when.

6. Pack your bag. This might be different for everyone. I like to go through my backpack and straighten all the papers I didn’t have the chance to put away throughout the week, and put all my Monday things in my bag. When I had an internship (a grown-up job), this was taking all the garbage out of my purse and sliding in a book (just in case). For others, it may be packing your gym bag. Either way, Monday will be much smoother if you don’t have to hunt for things.

7. Take some you time. I know that this sounds cheesey, but it is Sunday. It is a day off. Enjoy it. Take a picture and share it (#sundayfunday).

8. Don’t let your sleep schedule get crazy. This isn’t exactly a Sunday thing, it’s a whole weekend thing, but I think it’s important to mention. Getting up at 6:00 is more difficult Monday if you slept in until 10:00 on Saturday and Sunday than if you woke up at 6:30 or 7:00 on the weekend. Sleeping in is actually harder on your body than waking up early.

9. Set out your clothes for Monday. I always thought this was stupid: “How will I know what I will feel like wearing tomorrow?” But it SERIOUSLY helps make the morning go smoother to not stand in front of my closet for 10 minutes trying to pick out something to wear.

10. BREATH. Relax. Keep calm, it’s just another week. Maybe kick back with a glass of wine and a bubble bath. Or take 10 minutes to do a little yoga (you can find my favorite video here). Or read a book for 30 minutes before bed. Whatever it is relax, you’ve got this!

Does this help you? What do you do in preparation of the week ahead?

capture

 

Leave a Reply

